News items for everyone in the club goes in here.

Update by Manager /Office only.

Items in here will appear on every sections pages.

Play in Pink Day 2nd June 2022

The “Play in Pink” day in aid of the National Breast Cancer Research Institute will take place on Thursday 2nd June and everyone is encouraged to wear pink.   There will be an Invitation 4 lady scramble competition, a 9 hole singles competition for the men and ladies, and also a novelty putting competition.
Raffle tickets will be on sale in the Clubhouse from Monday 30th May.
All prizes provided by the NBCRI will be presented on the evening of Thursday 2nd June in the Clubhouse, where the raffle will also take place.
All support would be greatly appreciated.

Barton Cup

Congratulations to our Barton Cup Team for their victory over Balcarrick on Thursday, 19th May 2022.

Special Olympics Golf & Bowling Programme

On Friday last, 13th May, the Club, in association with St. Michael’s House, hosted an Orientation Day as an introduction to the Special Olympics Golf & Bowling  programme for a group of around 50 SMH service users. The initiative forms part of the ‘Sport for All’ programme run by Sport Ireland.

We are delighted to say that we have 28 member volunteers involved in running the programme.

Today the programme will resume on the pitching, putting and practice areas of the Course and will run for a further six weeks on Fridays, with an expected number of around 25 participants.

The programme is expected to run from around 10.30 am to 1pm.

Ray Maguire & Alan Smith,
Programme Coordinators.

Fred Perry Cup

Congratulations to our Clontarf Team for prevailing over Corrstown; 3 1/2 to 1/2 on Thursday, 19th May 2022.

Junior Foursomes

Clontarf were beaten by Portmarnock in a very tight match.

The home team of P.Dunne & T.Higgins finished their match A/S whilst away M.O’Donnell and R.Owens lost 4dn

Fred Daly Inter Club Competition

Clontarf beat Ashbourne 4 – 1 in the first round

We play Portmarnock on the 21st May in the next round, with 3 matches away and 2 at home

The Gardeners

As the weather improves, the gardening volunteers continue their work around the course on Mondays, from 4pm. Some of the work completed in the last few days includes the cutting of the Buxus ledge lettering of Clontarf G.C. at the veranda, a clean up of the beds at the 12th tee box area and the planting of new shrubs at the car park railings. A combination of Viburnum and Agapanthus have been planted in the bed at the railings.

A big thank you to Brian Leech for his very generous sponsorship of the new planters and Buxus cones at the entrance to the clubhouse.

If you have the time and would like to join the CGCGC, Clontarf Golf Club Gardening Club,  just bring yourself along to the clubhouse any Monday from 4pm.

The Midweekers’ Captain’s Day – the 58th season!

APRIL LBLI Unfurling Clontarf Bowling Club

Well we were blessed with the fine weather for the unfurling and

Upcoming Presidency of LBLI

Clontarf Presidency of the Ladies Bowling League of Ireland -Newsletter 1

Our member, Catherine Hazlett took up the Presidency of the Ladies Bowling League of
Ireland in December 2021.

LBLI Unfurling will take place on Wednesday 13 April at 12 30 pm.
The unfurling will be performed by our President Catherine Hazlett of LBLI.

The guest of honor will be the Lord Mayor Councilor Alison Gilliland. President of CGBC Andy Cullen,
Bowling Captain John Hackett, President of BLI Tony O’Brien and LBLI Committee
members will attend.

Each of the 18 bowling club members of the LBLI will be represented
by 2 members.

All Clontarf Bowling Club members are invited to attend the unfurling.

Open Competition -Round Robin will take place at 11am and 2 pm on April 14.

This competition is open to members of all 18 bowling club members of the LBLI.

15 of our members have booked to take part.

This competition should be an interesting event to watch
and members are asked to help out to ensure its success.

LBLI Championships week will take place here in Clontarf August 8 to 11 inclusive
The semi-finals and finals of LBLI competitions at Senior and Junior championships will be
held each day.

Members are invited to watch the high standard of bowling which will be on
show. We anticipate some of our members would be involved in these finals.
Council Meetings are held in Clontarf .

Representative from each member club attend to discuss issues, formulate LBLI policies and
make decisions, having obtained views of their members, on issues re merger of LBLI and
BLI to form a new representative association..

Yvonne Keogh and Ann Louise Mulhall are the Clontarf representatives.

Two council meeting have been held to date.

Further Council meetings are scheduled for
9th April, 7th May, 30th July, 27th August, 24th September, and 15th October.

Other LBLI Events planned are
LBLI Presentations of Leagues and Championship winner will be presented at a lunch on
September 17th, in Clontarf.

LBLI AGM on Saturday 12th November in Clontarf.