Lord Mayors Cup

Since its inception in 1951 the Lord Mayor’s Cup has been synonymous with Clontarf Golf Club. The brainchild of Jack Belton, the then Lord Mayor of Dublin and former Captain of Clontarf Golf Club, the Lord Mayor’s Cup has been competed for by golfers of distinction for over 60 years now. Players such as Ryder Cup star Philip Walton, Martin Sludds and David Kinsella, who won in 1964, have all been entrants. The 1989 winner, Robbie Moore from Howth G.C., competed in the 1999 Canadian Open at Glen Abbey G.C.

The qualifying round is 18 holes singles strokes, played on a scratch basis, and usually takes place on the second Sunday in August each year, with the leading 64 players qualifying for the match play stages which are played throughout the week. Entry is open to players of affiliated golf clubs who hold a handicap of four to nine at the date of the qualifying round.

The timesheet opens two weeks in advance of the competition and those interested in competing are advised to enter early as this event is one of the most popular on Leinster’s golfing calendar. A full timesheet each year, comprising of all single figure golfers, bears testament to its popularity with many competitors returning year after year with the hope of finally getting their names inscribed on the famous cup.

Brothers Make History in 2002

There was no brotherly love lost when the Fennelly brothers contested the 2002 AIB sponsored final of the 52nd Lord Mayor’s Cup. Against all the odds, the two brothers, Damien (18) and Barry (14) came through a top class field of 198 players to meet in the final.

Interested spectators at the final were Don MacAulay who won the trophy 50 years ago in 1952 and captured it three times in all. Gerry O’Brien, Hon. Secretary of the G.U.I. was also present. He contested the final four times and won in 1976.

Paul and June Fennelly, the proud parents, kept a discreet distance in the large crowd following the final which saw Barry, the youngest winner ever, triumph by 3 & 2.


Past Winners

Below is a list of all previous winners of the Lord Mayor’s Cup since 1951

2023L.O’Donohoe (Captain)Clontarf G.C.
2022P. O’ConnorMalahide G.C.
2021C. CollierHowth G.C.
2020No ChampionshipNo Championship
2019S. O’NeillMalahide G.C
2018P. SmithMalahide G.C.
2017G. SmithCorballis Links G.C.
2016P. ByrneClontarf G.C.
2015D. HeronClontarf G.C.2 Times
2014A. McCarthyClontarf G. C.
2013D. HeronClontarf G.C.2 Times
2012J. McDonnellForrest Little G.C.
2011T. ConsidineClontarf G.C.
2010M. Fahy Jnr.Clontarf G.C.
2009N. ClancyStackstown G.C.
2008J. McGuinnnessClontarf G.C.2 Times
2007P. KeoghWestmanstown G.C.
2006J. HuntClontarf G.C.
2005J. HarringtonClontarf G.C.2 Times
2004J. IrwinMalahide G.C.
2003J. HarringtonClontarf G.C.2 Times
2002B. FennellyClontarf G.C.
2001S. O’FlahertyHermitage G.C.
2000D. SmythMalahide G.C.
1999D. KelleherRoyal Tara G.C.
1998J. McGuinnessClontarf G.C.2 Times
1997G. EiversBalcarrick G.C.
1996E. MurphyDelgany G.C.
1995F. WhelanLaytown & Bettystown G.C.
1994A. SchweppeSutton G.C.
1993E. ConnollyLahinch G.C.
1992S. J. WardLaytown & Bettystown G.C.
1991J. TanseySkerries G.C.
1990R. MurrayClontarf G.C.
1989R. MooreHowth G.C.
1988S. WalshClontarf G.C.
1987P. McGillowayHermitage G.C.
1986C. CrowleyRoyal Dublin G.C.
1985J. MurphyClontarf G.C.
1984J. CraddockDublin & County G.C.
1983C. DempseyClontarf G.C.
1982A.A. TreacyRosslare G.C.
1981P. GrimesSkerries G.C.
1980T. WallClontarf G. C.
1979P. CongdonClontarf G.C.
1978L. O’BrienHeath G.C.
1977P. KennellyClontarf G.C.
1976G. O’BrienClontarf G.C.
1975D. P. KellyHeadford G.C.
1974D.C. MacaulayPortmarnock G.C.3 Times
1973J.G. ParkerDelgany G.C.
1972P.E. BrayHermitage G.C.
1971C. DarcyForrest Little G.C.3 Times
1970B. LahiffePortmarnock G.C.
1969C. DarcyCorballis G.C.3 Times
1968C. DarcyCorballis G.C.3 Times
1967K. HayesClontarf G.C.
1966J. MooneyClontarf G.C.
1965R. BradshawHowth G.C.
1964D. KinsellaSkerries G.C.
1963D. AllenSt Anne’s G.C.
1962T. O’BoyleClontarf G.C.
1961D. J. McCarthyClontarf G.C.
1960J. V. Clancy Jnr.Clontarf G.C.
1959P. DoyleClontarf G.C.
1958K. J. HollandPortmarnock G.C.
1957J. McDermottNewlands G.C.
1956B. JacksonRush G.C.
1955H.E. MurphyHermitage G.C.2 Times
1954E.C. HartyElm Park G.C.
1953D.C. MacaulayDonabate G.C.3 Times
1952D.C. MacaulayDonabate G.C.3 Times
1951H. E. MurphyClontarf G.C.2 Times